The official site of the Western Dakota Association

Williston's Kolden Kringen (left) and Mandan's Anna Bendish were the recipients of the 2022-23 WDA Senior Scholar Award. Presenting the awards was Jamie Ressler of Farmers Union Insurance. Farmers Union is the premiere sponsor of the Western Dakota Association and provides a match in funds for the scholarships. Photo by WDA SID

WDA Senior Scholar Recipients

Boy Scholar Winner
Girls Scholar Winner
Sam Aneson, Mandan
Mollie Fearing, Williston
Tyler Eikens, Williston
Ashley Jahner, Dickinson
Kasey Gengler, Jamestown
Anna Hruby, Bismarck High
Devin Coyle, Mandan
Tara Haussler, Bismarck High
Austin Mack, Dickinson
Rachel Power, St. Mary's
Ben Wanner, Mandan
Emily Lysne, Williston
Waylon DeCoteau, TMCHS*
Rachel Lantz, Dickinson
Ben Hanson, Jamestown
Ali Froehlich, Mandan
Brian Swanberg, Legacy
Emily Bichler, St. Mary's
Brody Armstrong, Minot*
Elizabeth Leingang, Mandan
Will Madler, Bismarck High
Kailey Weigel, Legacy
Aaron Riopelle, Mandan
Alexis Dressler, Legacy*
Jaxon Duttenhefer, Mandan
Taylor Leingang, Mandan
Chance Bowlinger, Bismarck Century
Madison Spacher, Watford City
Kolden Kringen, Williston
Anna Bendish, Mandan

* State Scholar Recipient

Since 2009, the Western Dakota Association has recognized one boy and girl student-athlete annually through its WDA Senior Scholar Award.

The award, which is tied to the North Dakota Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (NDIAAA) scholarship program, is open to all conference members.

Each member school can submit a completed application for one boy and one girl student-athlete to be considered for the WDA's $500 scholarship award. The WDA is proud to have its, premiere partner, Farmers Union Insurance, a contributor to this project.

The conference activities directors review the applications and select the recipients which are announced in March. The winners join the other region scholarship recipients from across the state who are then eligible for the state NDIAAA scholarship. The applications for the state winners are forwarded to a review panel at the sectional level. Sectional winners then qualify for the national award. The scholarships are paid directly to the higher education institution in which the recipient will attend. For more on the NDIAAA scholarship program, click here.

Western Dakota Association Male and Female Senior Scholar Award